Trinity United Church of Christ dates back to February 1867 when citizens of Leesport met to design building plans for Reformed and Lutheran denominations to worship. The five building committee members reported in March 1867 that they had $3,631 donated to begin construction which subsequently started in July of the same year with a corner stone laying ceremony. Having no formal congregation, the members of the building committee served as the foremen of the project. The church was incorporated November 7, 1867 as ‘The Trinity German Reformed and Evangelical Church of Leesport.’ In 2017, the Trinity UCC congregation will hold a 150th Anniversary celebration.
Present day, the Trinity United Church of Christ of Leesport is led by Pastor Deborah Schwartz. In addition to weekly services, worship is held each first Saturday of the month at 5 pm. The Saturday services are open for anyone who cannot attend worship on Sunday morning or for those who appreciate a more informal experience. Trinity UCC members frequently hold game day events on Sunday afternoons in the winter and local hiking trips during the summer which are open to the community.
Trinity UCC sanctuary houses weekly Alcoholics Anonymous, Narcotics Anonymous, Girl Scouts, and Weight Watchers meetings. Congregation members frequently give of their time volunteering for local community events such as Relay for Life, Leesport Community Days and the Schuylkill Valley Food Pantry.