First UCC, Schuylkill Haven: February 19, 2017

In its long history in Schuylkill County, the First United Church of Christ has been part of the on-going transformation of Protestantism, particularly in the Reformed church. While the “United Lutheran and Reformed Congregations in Manheim Township” first met in the Union School House in 1820, the official birth of the church, known as “Gotte’s Haus,” dates to the record of the first communion on May 26, 1822. The church split in 1851 over introducing English to worship, leading to the formation of St. John’s UCC in Schuylkill Haven. Due to the failure of a local bank and resulting financial issues, members left the church to establish St. Mark’s UCC in Cressona. The union between Lutheran and Reformed dissolved in 1905 creating the First Reformed Church, which became the First Evangelical and Reformed Church in the 1930s, and then the First United Church of Christ in the 1960s. In total, four buildings have sheltered the members of the congregation, including the present building which was constructed in 1964. Today the First United Church of Christ is involved actively in ecumenical ministry to help community members in need through the Council of Churches of Schuylkill Haven and Vicinity. In the greater community, the church is known for its delicious potato filling and Meat BINGOs as well as the unique cross which sits on the sanctuary roof, created by church member Howard Shaup, who died in 2015 after a lifetime of service to the church. Members strive to live by the words used to close worship: “We go into the world to serve God through Christ and to serve others with love.”
To learn more about our mission and ministry, visit our website: firstucc-haven.org .

Print Friendly, PDF & Email